Competition strong at Cedar Point Yacht Club One-Design Regatta

Eight one-design fleets, with over 400 sailors from Massachusetts to Florida, concluded a competitive weekend at the 12th annual Cedar Point Yacht Club One-Design Regatta on June 2. Beneteau
First 36.7s, J/30s, J/70s, J/92s, J/105s, J/109s, Soverel 33s, and Viper 640s competed in as many as eight races during the two-day regatta.
Awards were given for first, second, and third-place finishers in each one-design fleet. Below are the first-place winners:
The Beneteau First 36.7 fleet winner was William Purdy of New York, skipper of Whirlwind, who finished first in six of the seven total races. He was awarded the Rex Marine Trophy for Best Overall Performance.
The J/30 fleet winner was John McArthur of Stratford, skipper of Smiles and CPYC Commodore.
The J/70 fleet winners were Gary Tisdale and Adam Burns, Youngstown, N.Y., owners of Pig’s Ear.
The J/92 fleet Regatta winner was Todd Aven, skipper of Thin Man from Brooklyn, N.Y.
The J/105 fleet Regatta winner was Rye, NY resident Kevin Grainger, captain of Gumption3.
The J/109 fleet Regatta winner was Donald Filippelli, captain of Caminos from Amagansett, N.Y.
For the Soverel 33s, the Regatta was also their national championships. The Soverel 33 fleet Regatta winner and Soverel national champion was G. Mark McCarthy, captain of Slainte and Westbrook native.
For the 27-boat fleet of Viper 640s, the Regatta was also their New England championships. The Viper 640 fleet Regatta winner and Viper New England champion was Greenwich’s Justin Scott, driving Mambo Kings.