gc0405wells-01.jpg

‘Max and Ruby’ creator Rosemary Wells coming to Katonah

on
Fans of “Max and Ruby,” will have a chance to meet the woman who created these well-loved characters of the small screen and numerous books when Katonah (N.Y.)  Museum of Art hosts a Meet the Artist day on Sunday, March 30. From 2 to 3 p.m., Rosemary Wells, who lives in Greenwich, will lead a […] [Read More]
RP20130917_960

Author, illustrator David Allen Sibley to visit Greenwich this weekend

on
This year brings with it a treat for fans of “The Sibley Guide to Birds,” which was released in 2000. The second edition of this comprehensive guide was released last week and, on Saturday, its author and illustrator, David Allen Sibley will be making a stop in Audubon Greenwich as part of his nationwide tour. […] [Read More]
The 54th Annual GRAMMY Awards - Pre-Telecast

Out and about: Things to see and places to be this weekend

on
There may be a certain ennui that has descended, what with the mounds of snow ice and cold temperatures that don’t seem to want to leave. But, don’t let the doldrums of winter keep you inside this weekend, as activities and events abound throughout the region. Of note: Take in all manner of music in […] [Read More]
HAPPY DAYS

Henry Winkler to show off literary talents at R.J. Julia in Madison

on
He may forever be known to multiple generations as the Fonz, from the 1970s television series “Happy Days,” but Henry Winkler also is a movie actor, producer and director, and, children’s book author. His latest book, “Bookmarks Are People, Too! (Here’s Hank #1),” will be released Feb. 6. It is the latest in the Hank […] [Read More]
Mercedes-Benz Arrivals At The Palm Springs Film Festival

Jane Fonda to speak at Family Centers’ luncheon

on
One day after the release of her latest book, which focuses on teens, Academy Award-winning actress and fitness icon Jane Fonda will be in Greenwich to speak about the challenges teens face when it comes to body images, sex and relationships. It will be part of a March 5 luncheon held by Family Centers, which […] [Read More]
go0130maniac-001.jpg

Out and about: Things to see and places to be this weekend

on
Sure, plenty of people will be waiting for the last half of the weekend to do their celebrating, but there are far more events than just the Super Bowl to consider. If you didn’t know it, now you know … we are deep into Oscar season, with area venues hosting several events geared toward featuring […] [Read More]
gt1211gtpetermax-2002

Peter Max expected at booksigning, art show in Greenwich

on
If you failed to catch Peter Max’s show at POP International Galleries‘ midtown location in October, and his newest collection featuring Marilyn Monroe, you are in luck. C. Parker Gallery in Greenwich will welcome this pop artist from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. on Jan. 30, for a book signing and reception, which will feature some […] [Read More]
PR_banner_642x361_B

WWE launches literary challenge for WrestleMania XXX

on
You may know the storylines when it comes to the professional wrestlers of the WWE, but how many other tales and adventures do you know? The Stamford-based WWE has teamed with the Pearson Foundation and the Young Adult Literary Services Association to introduce the 2014 WrestleMania Reading Challenge. The prize is a trip to WrestleMania […] [Read More]
dragon

Out and about: Things to see and places to be this weekend

on
The calendar page may have changed, but the kinds of diversions, activities and programs planned for this first weekend of 2014 are similar to the ones you could have found in 2013. There will be music, art, theater, children’s activities and more. Still, with the cold, snowy weather, you may want to call ahead to […] [Read More]
danbrown

Bestselling author Dan Brown to visit Hartford

on
With his novels translated into 52 languages and 200 million copies in print, author Dan Brown has fans around the world. And, this summer, his fans here in Connecticut will have a chance to see him in person. As part of a fundraiser for The Mark Twain House and Museum, he will chat with WNPR’s […] [Read More]