delmar1

Stamford’s Ken Delmar earns spot in latest “Ripley’s ” tome

on
Pictured, Stamford resident Ken Delmar celebrates his art show at George Billis Gallery in the Chelsea neighborhood of New York City, N.Y., on Thursday, Sept. 5, 2013. Delmar creates his paintings on paper towels. File photo/Jason Rearick He made a splash in the newspaper and then in a New York City gallery before landing a […] [Read More]
Cocktails With The Queen-The British Consulate Toasts The U.S. Launch Of The Starz Original Series "The White Queen"

Historian, writer Philippa Gregory comes to Wilton to talk about ‘The King’s Curse”

on
Philippa Gregory may be deep into the late 1400s to mid 1500s when it comes to her latest book, “The King’s Curse,” but it will be through a very modern multimedia talk that she will discuss her work during a stop to the Wilton Library. This bestselling author, who hails from Yorkshire, England, will be […] [Read More]
dn1213dnwallylamb-01

Bestselling author Wally Lamb to talk about latest work at Wilton event

on
Bestselling author Wally Lamb is expected to make a stop at the Wilton Library on Wednesday to discuss his latest book, “We Are Water,” a tale of a modern American family as it copes with changing social mores, emotional upheavals and the need for connection. The talk will run from 7 to 8:30 p.m. Lamb, […] [Read More]
twainhouse

Mark Twain House to add some chill to summer’s sizzle

on
Months ahead of the traditional season of chills, the Mark Twain House will offer two days of ghost tours this month to give visitors a chance to learn more about the site’s more mysterious history. This historic homestead has already been investigated by a number of paranormal researchers, the results of which will be shared […] [Read More]
zombie2

Volunteer for ‘The Walking Dead Escape’ in Hartford

on
The scene in Hartford at month’s end is likely to be a bit dead, but you can still find plenty of action. For that is when the Walking Dead Escape is set to arrive – an interactive zombie obstacle course that has been touching down in venues around the country. Developed by Skybound, an imprint […] [Read More]
Little House on the Prairie

Alison Arngrim, TV’s ‘Nellie Oleson,’ to visit Hartford’s Mark Twain House

on
Many a Monday night in my youth was spent watching the trials, tribulations and joys of a certain family on the prairie. Years later, a little thing called syndication allowed me to reconnect with the Ingalls, their friends and fellow townspeople nearly any day I wanted to. For fans of “Little House on the Prairie,” […] [Read More]
at Home With Barbara Taylor Bradford

Barbara Taylor Bradford comes to Stamford for high tea, talk

on
What better way to celebrate Barbara Taylor Bradford’s latest story, an epic saga set in Edwardian England, than to gather for an elegant high tea service. The Ferguson Library in Stamford will be the setting for the festivities, which will feature a talk by Bradford about her latest book, “Cavendon Hall,” and a high tea […] [Read More]
73150C

Sharing notes: Clive Davis to speak in Westport

on
When it comes to some of the top musical acts over the past five decades, there is a common thread tying them all together. That thread is Clive Davis, the legendary music executive who has worked with performers such as Janis Joplin, Simon and Garfunkel, Miles Davis, Bruce Springsteen, Aretha Franklin, Aerosmith and Jennifer Hudson […] [Read More]
gc0405wells-01.jpg

‘Max and Ruby’ creator Rosemary Wells coming to Katonah

on
Fans of “Max and Ruby,” will have a chance to meet the woman who created these well-loved characters of the small screen and numerous books when Katonah (N.Y.)  Museum of Art hosts a Meet the Artist day on Sunday, March 30. From 2 to 3 p.m., Rosemary Wells, who lives in Greenwich, will lead a […] [Read More]
RP20130917_960

Author, illustrator David Allen Sibley to visit Greenwich this weekend

on
This year brings with it a treat for fans of “The Sibley Guide to Birds,” which was released in 2000. The second edition of this comprehensive guide was released last week and, on Saturday, its author and illustrator, David Allen Sibley will be making a stop in Audubon Greenwich as part of his nationwide tour. […] [Read More]