Lobo A Nominee For Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall Of Fame

Former UConn star and current ESPN analyst Rebecca Lobo is one of 12 Class of 2013 women’s basketball nominees for induction into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, it was announced Monday. North Carolina coach Sylvia Hatchell, Notre Dame coach Muffet McGraw and Baylor coach Kim Mulkey were also nominated.

According to the release, a candidate needs five of seven votes from the North American committee to become a finalist. The finalists will be announced Feb. 15.

Lobo, who was inducted into the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame in 2010, is looking to join UConn coach Geno Auriemma in the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. She is currently ranked seventh all-time in UConn history in scoring (2,133), third in rebounding (1,268) and first in blocks (396). Along with Tina Charles and Maya Moore, she is one of only three players in program history to amass 1,500 points and 1,000 rebounds.

Lobo was the consensus National Player of the Year in 1994-95 when she led the Huskies to their first national championship and a 35-0 finish. She was also a two-time State Farm/Kodak All-American (1993-94, 1994-95) and the NCAA Women of the Year (1994-95) at UConn before going on to win a gold medal at the 1996 Summer Olympics in Atlanta and helping launch the WNBA in 1997.

Along with fellow Class of 2013 nominee Theresa Weatherspoon, Lobo was assigned to the New York Liberty during the league’s first player allocations Jan. 22, 1997. Lobo spent seven seasons in the WNBA, five with the Liberty (1997-2001) and one season with the Houston Comets (2002) and the Connecticut Sun (2003).

Lobo, who helped lead the Liberty to the 1997 WNBA championship game, was voted to the league’s first-ever Eastern Conference All-Star Team in 1999.

Here is the complete list of the women’s basketball nominees …

Leta Andrews

Jennifer Azzi

Laurie Byrd (First-Time Nominee)

Kathy Delaney-Smith

Sylvia Hatchell

Rebecca Lobo

Muffet McGraw (First-Time Nominee)

Kim Mulkey

Harley Redin

Theresa Shank

Dawn Staley

Theresa Weatherspoon