Four Huskies Named To Wade Watch List

UConn seniors Stefanie Dolson and Bria Hartley, junior Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis and sophomore Breanna Stewart among 15 players that have been named to the Wade Watch list, it was announced by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association today. No other team has more than two players on the list.

Stewart and Tennessee’s Bashaara Graves are the lone sophomores on the list.

The Wade Trophy, which is now in its 37th year, is regarded as “The Heisman of Women’s Basketball’’ is given annually to the Division I Player of the Year by the National Association of Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS) and the WBCA. A committee of coaches, administrators and media from across the country compiled the list using the following criteria: game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team, and overall playing ability.

The ACC have six players on the list. The American Athletic Conference is second with five representatives, while the SEC has four.

Here is the complete list …
Natalie Achonwa (Notre Dame)
Rachel Banham (Minnesota)
Brittany Boyd (California)
Gennifer Brandon (California)
Stefanie Dolson (UConn)
Jerica Coley (FIU)
Aaryn Ellenberg (Oklahoma)
Bashaara Graves (Tennessee)
Chelsea Gray (Duke)
Bria Hartley (UConn)
Jordan Hooper (Nebraska)
Maggie Lucas (Penn State)
Tyaunna Marshall (Georgia Tech)
Kayla McBride (Notre Dame)
Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis (UConn)
Chiney Ogwumike (Stanford)
Theresa Plaisance (LSU)
Ebony Rowe (Middle Tennessee)
Shoni Schimmel (Louisville)
Meighan Simmons (Tennessee)
Odyssey Sims (Baylor)
DeNesha Stallworth (Kentucky)
Breanna Stewart (UConn)
Alyssa Thomas (Maryland)
Elizabeth Williams (Duke)