Chicken Tenders ’14/Christmas Eve: Monday notes

Happy Canada Day… and Merry Christmas. Didn’t do the annual list of the nontendered, or more accurately didn’t seek them out as aggressively, in part because of this year’s timing: the actual full free agents list should be out about 11 hours, as I post this. The ones I caught along the way are below. We’ll have the Bridgeport-centric lists as always at noon. And then it’s game on. The Islanders need at least two goaltenders if Kevin Poulin comes back and three if he doesn’t. There are tons of young defensemen, a group that’s even bigger if Aaron Ness indeed returns, but Ness would again be the closest thing they have to a vet back there; experience couldn’t hurt. And there’s plenty of depth, experience and scoring touch needed up front.

Elsewhere, Stunned to see “Community” is saved… by Yahoo!??!

And RIP, Frank Cashen, architect of some of the best moments of my sports childhood.

Reported non-tendered (unrestricted free agents, noon Tuesday):

ANA — Mathieu Perreault

BUF — Jamie McBain, Connor Knapp, Cory Conacher, Matt MacKenzie, Nick Crawford

CAL — T.J. Galiardi

CBJ — Anton Blomqvist, Oliver Gabriel, Jake Hansen

DAL — Ryan Button, Dustin Jeffrey, Tristan King, Hubert Labrie, Austin Smith

EDM — Taylor Fedun

FLA — Steven Anthony, Matthias Lindstrom, Anthony Luciani, Jonathan Hazen

LA — Steve Quailer, James Livingston, Jonathan Parker

MIN — Tyler Cuma

MON — Ryan White, Robbie Czarnik, Peter Delmas

NAS — Michael Del Zotto, Joonas Rask, Charles Roussel

NJ — Riley Boychuk, Harry Young (Young to sign an AHL deal, Chere reports)

NYI — Marc Cantin, Joey Diamond, Matt Mangene

NYR — Justin Falk, Kyle Jean, Scott Stajcer, Kyle Beach, Jason Wilson

PHI — Cal Heeter, Kyle Flanagan, Marc-Andre Bourdon, Tyler Brown, Cullen Eddy, Tyler Hostetter

STL — Tyler Shattock, Brett Ponich

SJ — Nick Petrecki, Sena Acolatse, Adam Comrie, Brodie Reid, Sebastian Stalberg, Marek Viedensky

TB — Keith Aulie, Anders Lindback, Charles Landry, Geoff Walker

VAN — Jordan Schroeder, Zac Dalpe

WAS — Nicolas Deschamps, Brett Flemming, Peter LeBlanc

WIN — Matt Halischuk, Keaton Ellerby, James Wright, Cody Sol

Michael Fornabaio