State playoff polls: Newtown leaps forward

Your SWC Champion Newtown Nighthawks have jumped from No. 9 to No. 7 in the pre-playoff edition of the NHR State Media Top 10.

Correct me if I’m wrong, but this might be the highest the Nighthawks have climbed in the polls for as long as I’ve been here (2008, maybe?). The last time they finished in the Top 10 was the 12-1 team in 1996. Long way to go on that front.

But they clearly deserve the high praise. Dominating second-half effort

In case you missed it, watch their 21-14 win over Masuk here.

Anyway, onto the polls…

NHR Top 10 Media Poll

Other teams receiving votes: Masuk (9-1), 275; Hillhouse (8-2), 239; North Branford (10-0), 224; West Haven (8-2), 213; St. Joseph (8-2), 115; Berlin (9-1), 67; Middletown (8-2), 59; Wolcott (9-1), 49; Hyde (9-1), 23; Avon (10-0), 15; New Canaan (8-2) and Woodland (7-3), 14; Oxford (8-2), 9 .
The following voted: Marc Allard, Norwich Bulletin; Bob Barton, New Haven Register; Bill Bloxsom, Hersam-Acorn; Sean Patrick Bowley, Connecticut Post; Don Boyle, Sporting News CT; Jim Bransfield, Middletown Press; Kyle Brennan, Waterbury Republican-American; Chris Brodeur, Danbury News-Times; Bryant Carpenter, Meriden-Record Journal; George DeMaio, WELI; Mike DiMauro, The Day of New London; Matt Doran, MSG Varsity; Tom Evans, Norwalk Hour; Noah Finz, WTNH-8; Ned Griffen, The Day of New London; John Holt, WFSB-3; Mark Jaffee, Waterbury Republican-American; Ken Lipshez, West Hartford News/New Britain City Journal; Mike Madera, Elm City Newspapers; Joe Morelli, New Haven Register; Dave Phillips, Shore Line Newspapers; Mike Pucci, New Haven Register; Dave Ruden, Stamford Advocate; Tom Yantz, Hartford Courant; Mike Wollschlager, New Haven Register; Jimmy Zanor, Shore Line Newspapers.

The Day of New London Top 10 Coaches Poll

Also receiving votes:
Hillhouse-New Haven (8-2), 138 points; Masuk (9-1), 105; West Haven (8-2), 76; Wolcott (9-1), 74; Middletown (8-2), 58; Avon (10-0), 55; St. Joseph-Trumbull (8-2), 48; Berlin (9-1), 45; North Branford (10-0), 37; New Canaan (8-2), 31; Hartford Capital/Classical/Achievement (10-0), 15; Fitch (8-2), 7.
The following coaches voted:
Tom Brockett, Ansonia; Jim Buonocore, Ledyard; Craig Bruno, Bunnell; Dave Cadelina, Bridgeport Central; Steve Filippone, Hand; Rob Fleeting, Windsor; Tanner Grove, Montville; Jude Kelly, St. Paul; Tim King, Valley Regional; Sean Marinan, Xavier; John Murphy, Masuk; Marce Petroccio, Staples; Bob Zito, Maloney.

Sean Patrick Bowley