The 2012 ‘Super 33’ Hearst Connecticut All-Star Football team

The votes have been voted, the tallies tallied, and with some minor shuffling around of the positions to make sure the candidates get a spot, we present to you the 2012 ‘Super 33’ Hearst Connecticut All-Star Football team, which was unveiled January 1.

We broke it down by 16 players per side, with the addition of  all-purpose slots for the players who just did everything for their teams, and the Most Valuable Player.

Masuk’s Thomas Milone is the MVP.

Weston’s Joe Lato is the coach of the year.

Lots of hard choices to make at the end as the Hearst CT sports staff wrestled with trying to get some of their favorites a spot.

Since we decided against making a second team, a lot of good players — some all-staters — were ultimately left off.

In the end, we believe this is a solid representation of the best players in Shangri-La.

Quick programming note, our coverage area has shrunk over the last few years. Players are eligible from the FCIAC and the SWC, Ansonia, Seymour, Derby, Shelton, Amity, Foran, Law, Abbott Tech, Bullard-Havens and Platt Tech. Fringe schools who were once part of our coverage area, but never call in their box scores have been cut off.

Click on the individual photos to zoom in.


Position Players


Sean Patrick Bowley