Walter Camp announces Newsome Player of the Year, All-Connecticut team


Arkeel Newsome slips past a North Branford defender on the way to the end zone. Newsome ran for 234 yards on 28 carries and three touchdowns to lead the Chargers to their second consecutive state title in December.

The Walter Camp Football Foundation named Ansonia back Arkeel Newsome its player of the year and announced its 2012 All-Connecticut Team at the annual ‘Breakfast of Champions’ this morning at Anthony’s Ocean View.

Newsome, who ran for 2,245 and 38 touchdowns to lead the Chargers to a second consecutive 14-0 season and state championship, beat out Xavier’s Tim Boyle and Hand’s Matt Walsh for the honor.

Locally, Staples’ Kyle Vaughn, James Frusciante, Wilton’s Mike LaSala, Shelton’s Ed Groth and Masuk’s Thomas Milone all earned spots on the exclusive team.

The Foundation also awarded to Jack Hunt, the former Ansonia coach who died on Thanksgiving Day last year. Hunt won 193 games and seven state championships from 1987-2005. The award was presented to his family.

Law’s George Knoth, a linebacker and offensive tackle, was awarded the ‘UCAN Inspire Award,’ for his and his teammates efforts in raising awareness for Autism. Knoth and the Lawmen wore blue puzzle piece decals on their helmets. Knoth’s younger brothers are both autistic.

The 2012 Walter Camp Football Team

QB: Tim Boyle (Xavier)
RB: Arkeel Newsome (Ansonia), Harold Cooper (Hillhouse)
WR/TE: Andrew Matos (Ansonia), Kris Luster (Xavier)
TE: Andrew Isaacs (Manchester)
OL: Hector Rodriguez (Berlin), Jacob Basilica (Montville), Kyle Vaughn (Staples), Michael LaSala (Wilton), Max Schumann (Xavier)

Peter Gerson (Daniel Hand), Kyle Wilson (Ledyard), Tuzar Skipper (Norwich Free Academy), Cole Ormsby (Windsor)
LB: Mike Jones (Capital Prep), Matt Walsh (Daniel Hand), Marquis Little (Manchester), Max Tylki (Xavier)
DB: Andre Anderson (Hillhouse), Joey Paparelli (Norwich Free Academy), Justin Potts (Platt), James Frusciante (Staples)

Kicker: Ed Groth (Shelton)
Punter: Michael Nichol (Wolcott)
Returner: Thomas Milone (Masuk)

Sean Patrick Bowley