2013 Walter Camp All-Connecticut team

Arkeel Newsome of Ansonia.

Arkeel Newsome of Ansonia.


2013 Walter Camp All-Connecticut Team


QB: Stephen Barmore (Southington)

RB: Arkeel Newsome (Ansonia), Ervin Philips (West Haven)

WR: Alex Jamele (Southington), Nick Weissauer (Foran)

TE: Julian Dunn (Newtown)

OL: Ryan Hovan (Ansonia), John Tondalo (North Haven), Steve Hashemi (St. Joseph), Colin McKeown (Fairfield Warde), Ryan McKenna (New Canaan)


DL: Zach Maxwell (Southington), Connor Buck (New Canaan), Calvin Daniels (Bethel), Mark Evanchick (Darien)

LB: Ethan Suraci (North Haven), Cole Harris (New Canaan), Nick Crowle (Fairfield Prep)

DB: Lars Pedersen (St. Joseph), Dario Highsmith (Middletown), Jordan Kowalski (Ledyard), Harold Cooper (Hillhouse)


PK: Kyle Smick (Southington)

P: Daly Hebert (Darien)

KR: Jack Shaban (Joel Barlow)

The Walter Camp Football Foundation will honor these players at the “Breakfast of Champions” on Saturday, Jan. 11 at Anthony’s Ocean View in New Haven.

Ansonia, the Class S champion and state’s top-ranked team, will be honored along with the three other state champions – Southington (Class LL), New Canaan (Class L) and St. Joseph (Class M).

The state Coach of the Year award will be presented by Stadium System.  The three finalists include: Tom Brockett (Ansonia), Mike Drury (Southington) and Lou Marinelli (New Canaan).

The four finalists for the state Player of the Year include:  Southington senior quarterback Stephen Barmore, Middletown junior running back Dario Highsmith, Ansonia senior running back Arkeel Newsome and West Haven senior running back Ervin Philips.

The Lifetime Achievement Award, which is presented by NFP Sports, will be presented to former New London head coach Jim Buonocore.  Buonocore won four state titles and totaled a 209-94-8 record as head coach.

Walter Camp Weekend sponsor Generation UCAN will present the “UCAN Inspire Award,” to Westhill senior Evan Skoparantzos.


Scott Ericson