It’s Back: The 2nd annual Overtime Fan Showdown

It started as a debate last winter about which gym was the most difficult in the FCIAC to play in during basketball season, and eventually evolved into a bigger question: which league school has the most loyal fans. That led to our impromptu contest, the Overtime Fan Showdown.

With more schools naming their fan bases, and with many now having their own Twitter accounts, the argument rages on. So we are back with the 2nd annual Overtime Fan Showdown, hopefully with more finalists looking to unseat defending champion Westhill. We are expanding the rules to hopefully make it more fun.

First the prize: the winning school will get $500 for its athletic department. We will give $100 for second place. More importantly, you will have bragging rights for the next year.

The rules are slightly complex, so read carefully:

1. The contest is open to all 19 schools, though you should get permission from your athletic director. (I emailed every athletic director and the only school that was denied entry is Fairfield Warde.

2. A representative, likely from a school’s fans Twitter account, must make contact to enter. I will need a contact person for each school. The deadline to enter is noon on Sunday.

3. There will be two components. The first will be a straight-out vote here on the blog starting Sunday night at 7 and running until noon next Thursday. There will be a little twist: I will announce on Twitter unlimited voting for two brief windows. You won’t know when. So it will be to your advantage to get your fans following me on Twitter: to do so click here.

4. The team that wins the vote will receive 5 points. Second place will be worth 3 points and third place will be worth 1 point.

5. Like last year, each team will submit a video of no longer than two minutes showing your fans in action at a home game of your choosing. We want to see loyalty, not rowdy misbehavior. I will arrange with a contact person from each school to receive the videos. The deadline for the videos is Feb. 10. This gives you plenty of time now to plan a game. (Look below for the winning video Westhill submitted.)

6. As we receive the videos, we will post them for viewing. A panel of our sponsors will then judge the videos. They will give a 3 to the best one, 2 for the second-best one and 1 for the third-best. The school that earns the most overall points, like the voting, will get 5 points, second place will be worth 3 points and third place worth 1 point.

7. We will add up the points from the vote and the videos to determine the winner. If two schools tie, we will give them the option to agree on holding another vote to break it, or to split the $600.

Those are the rules. We will confirm with every entrant full understanding of the rules. And on February 14, we will announce the winner of the 2nd annual Overtime Fan Showdown.