The Elite Eight: Vote for the Overtime Winter Coach of the Year

After a long list of memorable accomplishments over the last three months, it is time for you to decide who was the very best of the best. We have selected eight outstanding finalists for our annual BlueStreak-Overtime FCIAC Winter Coach of the Year award.

The winner will receive a trophy from BlueStreak Sports Training and the Stamford Advocate.

Here are the finalists and their accomplishments (based on information submitted by coaches):

RICH BULAN, NEW CANAAN GIRLS HOCKEY: Bulan led the Rams to a 24-1 record, with their only loss coming in the FCIAC championship game, and to the state championship.

NIKO FILIPPAKIS, TRUMBULL WRESTLING: In his first season as coach, Filippakis led the Eagles to a 22-9 record and a surprising second-place finish at the Class LL championships.

JOEL GERIAK: WILTON BASKETBALL: In Geriak’s first season, the Warriors finished with a 16-9 record, reached the semifinals of the FCIAC Tournament for the first time and advanced to the quarterfinals in their first state playoff appearance since 2000.

LAUREN GIBBS, RIDGEFIELD GIRLS HOCKEY: In her first season, Gibbs led the Tigers to a 13-7-2 record and the semifinals of both the FCIAC and state tournaments.

TERRY LOWE, GREENWICH BOYS SWIMMING: Lowe led the Cardinals to a sweep of the FCIAC, Class LL and State Open championships.

STEVE NORRIS, DARIEN GIRLS TRACK: Led by Norris, the Blue Wave won the FCIAC championship by 50 points, the Class L championship by 78 points, their first-ever State Open title and won two events at the New England championships.

MARK PETTORINI, FAIRFIELD BOYS HOCKEY: The Fairfield Co-Op team, under Pettorini, finished 14-10, qualifying for the FCIAC Tournament, and then as the No. 12 seed won the Division 2 state title, the first in school history.

RICKY SHOOK, DANBURY WRESTLING: Shook led the the Hatters to a 16-2 record — undefeated in the state — and to the FCIAC, Class LL and State Open championships. They also came in sixth place at the New England Championships.

Those are the eight finalists. You have until noon on Wednesday to select the 2013 BlueStreak-Overtime FCIAC Winter Coach of the Year.

(I invite you to follow me on Twitter: @DaveRuden and like the Overtime Facebook fan page.)