The Elite Eight: Vote for the Overtime Spring Coach of the Year

Stamford's Tony Esposito

Stamford’s Tony Esposito

New Canaan's Danielle Simoneau

New Canaan’s Danielle Simoneau

After a long list of memorable accomplishments over the last two months, it is time for you to decide who was the very best of the best. We have selected eight outstanding finalists for our annual BlueStreak-Overtime FCIAC Spring Coach of the Year award.

The winner will receive a trophy from BlueStreak Sports Training and the Stamford Advocate.

Here are the finalists and their accomplishments:

JIM CHAVES, ST. JOSEPH BASEBALL: The Cadets finished with a 20-6 record and won their first state championship since 1985.

TONY ESPOSITO, STAMFORD SOFTBALL: The Black Knights finished 19-6 and advanced to the semifinals of the state tournament.

EJ HASKELL, GREENWICH BOYS TENNIS: The Cardinals finished 19-0 and won both the FCIAC and Classs LL championships.

LISA LINDLEY, DARIEN GIRLS LACROSSE: The Blue Wave finished 21-1 — undefeated in Connecticut — and won both the FCIAC and state championship.

PAUL MCNULTY, STAPLES BOYS LACROSSE: The Wreckers enjoyed their best season, finishing 16-5 and reaching the Division L championship game.

JOHN REISERT, FAIRFIELD LUDLOWE GIRLS TENNIS: The Falcons enjoyed their best season, finishing 22-3, with their first FCIAC title and reaching the Class L championship.

DANIELLE SIMONEAU, NEW CANAAN SOFTBALL: The Rams ended up 14-7 and, having never won a conference playoff game before, won their first FCIAC title. Simoneau became the first person to win a league softball title as a player and coach.

JAIME WILLIAMS, DANBURY GIRLS LACROSSE: The Hatters enjoyed their best season, finishing 15-5 and upsetting Wilton for their first-ever FCIAC playoff win.

Those are the eight finalists. You have until noon on Wednesday to select the 2013 BlueStreak-Overtime FCIAC Spring Coach of the Year.

(I invite you to follow me on Twitter: @DaveRuden and like the Overtime Facebook fan page.)