Rob Simmons courting GOP women

This morning former Congressman Rob Simmons’ campaign for the Republican U.S. Senate nomination announced the formation of a 100-person statewide “Women for Simmons” coalition.

It’s an interesting move.

On the one hand Simmons’ chief competition – Republican Linda McMahon of Greenwich – according to the latest Quinnipiac University poll has a 22 point advantage with female voters.

On the other hand there are aspects of McMahon’s family business – Stamford-based World Wrestling Entertainment – that you’d think some women might find offensive, such as placing scantily-clad diva wrestlers in sexually compromising situations in and out of the ring. Simmons has been pretty relentlessly attacking WWE and attempting to convince the GOP the company will prove McMahon’s downfall in the general election should she be the nominee.

Simmons has also been losing some support among social conservatives who, despite concerns about WWE programming, have greater issues with Simmons’ stance on abortion. He’s pro-choice, while McMahon favors a ban on partial-birth abortion and favors parental notification when a minor seeks an abortion.

Here’s the campaign’s full announcement about this attempt to boost his support among females:


(MYSTIC) – Today, the Simmons for Senate campaign announced its statewide Women for Simmons coalition, made up of over 100 women, including members of the Connecticut General Assembly, small business owners, Republican town committeewomen and other leading Republican women throughout the state of Connecticut:

“Rob Simmons has been a true and loyal friend to Republican women. He has voted to end the marriage penalty and expand the child tax credit and supported efforts to reduce violence against women,” said Kathleen McCarty, president of the Connecticut Federation of Republican Women.

“I am proud to endorse Rob Simmons and believe his record of standing up for Connecticut women and families will win him the support of women throughout the state this fall,” added McCarty.

“I am honored to have the support of Republican women throughout the state of Connecticut,” said Simmons. “Together we will take our message of lowering taxes, improving education and ensuring the Republican Party fights for women and families.”

The following women have joined the Women for Simmons Coalition:

President of the Connecticut Federation of Republican Women Kathleen McCarty of Waterford

RTC Member Nancy Ahern of New Haven

Small Business Owner Floresia Allen of Meriden

RTC Member and Former Chair Karen Arnold of Orange

State Representative Penny Bacchiochi of Somers

RTC Member Kathleen Bach of Tolland

RTC Member Nettie Bartocetti of Orange

Small Business Owner Katerina Begetis of Norwalk

Healthcare Adminstrator Lynne Besescheck of Shelton

Susan Bessette of Pawcatuck

RTC Member Kathy Bilodeau of East Windsor

RTC Member and member of the Board of Finance Margaret Bratton of Avon

RTC Member Susan Brault of Burlington

RTC Member Lisa Bull DiLullo of Milford

RTC Member Debby Butler of Killingworth

Business Development Coordinator Jacqueline Cafero of Norwalk

RTC Member Linda Camelio of Stonington

Debrah Ceccarelli of Ansonia

Katherine Cerow of New Canaan

Lili Chapman of New Britain

Janet Cianci of Redding

RTC Member Val Conroy of Old Saybrook

RTC Member Marlene Cook of Sterling

Nicole Cosentino of Norwalk

State Central Committee Member Bonnie Cuprak of Norwich

RTC Member Jane Dauphinais of Groton

RTC Member Linda Davis of Ledyard

Janelle Dussault of Norwich

Kourtney DeArchangelo of Nagatuck

RTC Member Shonnie DelloRusso of Orange

State Central Committeewoman Margaret Jane DeRisio of Old Lyme

RTC Member and Registrar of Voters Mary DeVito of Orange

RTC Member Jessica Dussault of Norwich

Mary Ann Ferguson of Danbury

Marissa Ferguson of Danbury

RTC Member Paula Ferrara of Westbrook

Former State Representative and RTC member Jo Fuchs-Lubscome of Westport

Durham First Selectman Laura Francis

Amber Gagne of Prospect

State Central Committee Member Diane Generous of Sprague

RTC Member Danelle Godeck of East Windsor

RTC Member Vicki Grande of Orange

State Representative Marilyn Giuliano

Suzanne Guidera of Weston

RTC Member Lynn Hamlen of Darien

Maryann Hanrahan of Danbury

Trading Analyst Corrie Harrison of Norwalk

State Central Committee Member Jen Harvey of Bolton

RTC Member Erin Henry of Coventry

Susan Dussault of Norwich

Sarah Holbrook of Westbrook

RTC Member Randi Hutton of Redding

RTC Member Doris Isbrecht of Plymouth

RTC Chairman Lori Jeffers of Windham

Brittany Keith of Middlebury

State Representative Themis Klarides of Derby

RTC Member and State Central Committee Member Doris Knight of Orange

RTC Member and Representative Town Meeting Member Roseanne Kotowski of Groton

Mallory Krupa of Seymour

Kristen LaFleur of Westport

Cecile Larusso of Fairfield

RTC Member Patricia Logiocco of Orange

RTC Member Janet Lynn of Salisbury

Jennifer Maloney of Simsbury

RTC Member Veronica McDonald of Orange

Former President of the West Hartford Taxpayers Alliance Theresa McGrath

RTC Member Sharon McLaughlin of Ellington

Cindy Monroe of New Haven

Marybeth Nardella of Watertown

RTC Vice Chair Nancy Nastri of Orange

RTC Member Dolores Nastri of Orange

RTC Member Linda Nolfof Westbrook

RTC Member Mary Nork of Haddam

Michelle O’Brien of Naugatuck

RTC Member Lynn Plaskowitz of Orange

State Central Committee Member Mary Porter of Derby

Kiersten of Radke of Naugatuck

State Representative Rosa Rebimbas of Naugatuck

State Central Committee Member Joi Reiner Gallo of Darien

RTC Secretary Nancy Rivera of Windham

RTC Member Peggy Roberts of Rocky Hill

RTC Vice Chair Mary Robertson of Sharon

RTC Member Myra Rochow of Hamden

Donna Rovack of Seymour

RTC Member Bonnie Ryder of Durham

State Representative Pam Sawyer of Bolton

Marie Schweitzer of Bristol

Ashley Sheen of Norwalk

RTC Member Marjorie Shenk of Orange

Jane Simmons of Stonington

RTC Member Linda Sinisgallo of East Windsor

Chlora Smarth of Shelton

Marion Smith of Norwalk

Miriam Smith of Stamford

Samm Stadniczenko of Wolcott

City Councilwoman Mary Teisholz of Danbury

Marilyn Thomas of Stamford

Mary Tinsley of Brookfield

Nora Verespie of Bridgeport

Kaitlyn Voccolaof Shelton

RTC Member Betty Wagner of Colchester

RTC Member Carol Walter of Clinton

Janet Wieliczka of Ellington

Susan Voccola of Shelton

RTC Member Shelby Wilson of Orange

Jacquline Wolfram of Danbury

Carol Yanosy of Monroe

RTC Member and former Chair Patricia Zeoli of Orange

Brian Lockhart