Stamford Woman’s Club awards $20K in scholarships

Rosemary2ABOVE: Stamford students who received college scholarships this year from the Stamford Woman’s Club, with SWC President Betty Jean Martinik and keynote speaker Juanita James Williams.

STAMFORD — The Stamford Woman’s Club awarded $20,000 in scholarships to 20 Stamford students last week during a ceremony at the First Methodist Church in Stamford.

The SWC, which was founded in 1905, accepts applications from high school seniors who have at least a B+ grade point average. The full list of recipients is as follows:

Repeat winners:  Joseph Battinelli (UConn), Lauren Dubinsky (Laffaytte), Christina Groccia (UConn), Marianne Vakos (UConn), Diane Yang (Harvard) .

High school winners: Coleen Adams (AITE), Matthew McGoldrick (Stamford HS), Nicolette Melia (Westhill HS), Eric Mojica (AITE), Christopher Montero (Trinity Catholic), Katie Murphy (Trinity Catholic), Christopher Polidoro (Westhill HS), Cinthya Reyes (Stamford HS), Tatiana Rice (Westhill HS), Jonathan Rich (Stamford HS), Lesly Sanchez Alvarez (Stamford HS), Dylan Senecal (Stamford HS), Jennifer Sigua (Stamford HS), Simona Strukova (Trinity Catholic), Kelly Suasnavas (Westhill HS).

Students who wish to apply for a SWC scholarship for next year should contact their guidance counselors in early January.