UConn Basketball

with Kevin Duffy

Statement from Big East official

|

Big East official Karl Hess released the following statement on the missed call at the beginning of overtime that would have resulted in two points for UConn, giving it a 71-69 lead.

It was an incredibly bizarre sequence: Both teams lined up incorrectly at the beginning of overtime and were unknowingly going the wrong way. A Shabazz Napier layup (at his own basket) was goaltended by Marquette’s Jamil Wilson, and after discussion, the officiating crew ruled that the 12 seconds had indeed elapsed, but the basket did not count.

Here’s the postgame statement from Hess:

“Based on rule five, section one, article three, when the official permits a team to go in the wrong direction and then the error is discovered, all activity and time consumed shall count as though each team had gone in the proper direction. Play is then resumed with each team going in the proper direction.”

“The players went in the wrong direction tonight. Because we allowed that to happen, the only thing that was wrong is there was a goaltend on the play. We should have scored the goaltend and given Connecticut two points for that.”

“You have no team control after that, because you have a shot, so now you go to the alternating possession arrow. Because there is no team control at that point and then Marquette gets the ball and you head them all in the right direction.”

Categories: General

Leave a Reply