Wanted: Candidate to fill RTM vacancy

Calling voters registered in District 3 of Westport’s Representative Town Meeting.

You, too, have a shot at joining the delegation that represents fellow neighborhood residents on the town’s legislative body. The vacancy in the four-person District 3 delegation was created by the recent resignation of Hadley Rose, who also had served as the body’s moderator.

Under Town Charter guidelines, the vacancy must be filled by a registered voter residing within the district. To determine the district boundaries, check the map on the town’s website HERE.

No party affiliation is required since Westport’s RTM is non-partisan. Rose’s unexpired term expires in November, when all RTM seats will be in play in the municipal election.

Residents of RTM District 3 interested in being considered to fill the vacancy are invited to send a resume, on or before Wednesday, April 17, to the Town Clerk’s Office, attention Patricia Strauss, 110 Myrtle Ave., Westport, or via e-mail to pstrauss@westportct.gov.

Questions regarding the open seat also can be directed to Eileen Flug, the new RTM moderator, or the remaining district members, Jimmy Izzo, Melissa Kane or William F. Meyer III. Their contact information can also can be found on the town website, http://www.westportct.gov

John Schwing