Note: The Connecticut Media Group is not responsible for posts and comments written by non-staff members.

Family Y Annual Meeting Set for June 18; Halsteads Among Honorees

The Westport Weston Family Y’s Annual Meeting of the Association will be held Monday, June 18, starting at 5:30 pm in the Bedford Lobby.

This year’s Annual Meeting — the 88th — is especially significant, as it marks a period of transformative change for our Family Y. Less than a month ago, our governing Boards of Directors and Trustees voted unanimously to proceed with plans to begin construction of Phase I of the new Y facility at Mahackeno by the end of this year.

The capital campaign to fully fund the building project is ongoing and in coming months will be expanded to all reaches of the communities we serve. But one, all-important aspect of the “Building What Matters” campaign for a new Y is now certain: By the fall of 2014, Y families will gather outside our beautiful new home at Mahackeno and proudly usher in a new era of health, well-being and service to our Members and the entire community.

Michael Friedman, Family Y Employee of the Year, with Y Member Philip Singer.

At this very special Annual Meeting, we’ll be welcoming new volunteer Board members, saluting others for their service, and renewing our historic commitment to make our Family Y a center of community life and a welcoming place for all.

At the 88th Annual Meeting, we will also be honoring the Family Y volunteers and staff members who have exemplified our mission of service and shared values of honesty, caring, respect and responsibility. Our 2011 honorees include:

Lynne A. Warren YMCA Community Service Award

  • Jessica Guo

Edward T. Bedford Outstanding Youth

  • Madeline Melnick
  • Gabrielle Wimer

Paul I. Becker Employee of the Year

Steve Halstead, Family Y Volunteer of the Year.

Lee J. Edelstein Volunteer of the Year

  • Steven Halstead

In addition, we will be recognizing and thanking the following board members for their service:

Robert H. Allen
Board of Trustees, 2006-2012
Board of Directors, 1996-2002

Steven L. Ezzes
Board of Trustees, 2005-2012

Jennifer Gabler
Board of Directors, 2005-2012

William Galle
High School Advisory Member
Board of Directors, 2010-2012

Rosemary Halstead, Former Y Board President, will receive special recognition for her dedication and service to the Family Y.

Rosemary Halstead
Board of Directors, 2001-2012

H.T. (Ted) Hampe
Board of Trustees, 1998-2012

Lisa K. Krakoff
Board of Directors, 2007-2012

Sue M. Nadel
Board of Directors, 2009-2012

David B. Rosenthal
Board of Directors, 2009-2012

Ronald Wimer
Board of Directors, 2007-2012

And in special recognition, the Family Y will honor Rosemary Halstead. As a passionate advocate and champion of our Family Y for more than 23 years, Rosemary has set the highest standards of volunteerism, determination and leadership.

In 1989, Rosemary, her husband, Steve (our volunteer of the year!) and their young son Christopher became members of our Family Y, and in 2001 she joined the Board of Directors. In just two years, her passion, commitment and leadership resulted in her election to Board President, guiding the Family Y Board of Directors from 2003 to 2007. Following her four-year presidential term, Rosemary continued her volunteer commitment as Member-at-Large and Ex-Officio Board Member. In 2012 Rosemary will begin the next chapter in her service to the Family Y as a member of the Board of Trustees.

Thank you Rosemary, and Steve, for all you do on behalf of our community!