Disenfranchised: Fake Team Awards VIII

Well, that didn’t work as well as I’d hoped. Ah well. Only eight votes cast this year. (I’m hoping I didn’t miss any because of the Spam Debacle last weekend, but there wasn’t any kind of clamor.)

Especially thankful for the eighth. The first seven left a seven-way tie for both awards. The eighth broke it.

Fan Favorite goes narrowly to Ty Wishart, one of the elder statesmen on this team, at least in terms of service time and service to this franchise. And the Seventh Player goes narrowly to Brandon DeFazio, a solid performer on the ice and in the community.

The Three Stars Award is mathematically on the line today. We’ll update tonight (and try to forget the math when we’re voting). Edit: No need to forget the math on today’s vote. Nino Niederreiter was picked seven times as the second star, which carried him narrowly past Brock Nelson to the Three Stars Award. Nelson was first star four times and second star four times.

FAN FAVORITE: Ty Wishart 2
, Scott Campbell 1, Matt Donovan 1, Brett Gallant 1, Nathan McIver 1, Brock Nelson 1, John Persson 1.

SEVENTH PLAYER: Brandon DeFazio 2, Sean Backman 1, Scott Campbell 1, Jon Landry 1, Brock Nelson 1, Blair Riley 1, Matt Watkins 1.

Fake Team Awards History
Seventh Player
Matt Koalska
2007–Jason Pitton
2008–Trevor Smith
2009–Tyler Haskins
2010–Jon Gleed
2011–Jeremy Colliton
  2011 special–Trainer Mike Schroeder/Equipment manager Leni DiCostanzo
2012–Tony Romano
2013–Brandon DeFazio

Fan Favorite
Steve Regier
2007–Wade Dubielewicz
2008–Kip Brennan
2009–Pascal Morency
2010–Greg Mauldin
2011–Micheal Haley
2012–Micheal Haley
2013–Ty Wishart

Three Stars Award
Wade Dubielewicz
2007–Wade Dubielewicz
2008–Jeff Tambellini
2009–Nathan Lawson/Mike Iggulden (shared)
2010–Greg Mauldin
2011–Jeremy Colliton
2012–Kevin Poulin
2013–Nino Niederreiter

Michael Fornabaio